• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Archives

CANDIDATE SPOTLIGHT: BRIAN SCHMIDT

Brian SchmidtI am a native of Clinton County and have lived and farmed south of Delmar all my life. Along with my wife Jane, we have owned and operated our farm for the past 30 years. Jane is also a teacher in the Maquoketa Community School District with over 25 years of service. Prior to going to Maquoketa she was a middle school teacher at the old Wood Jr. High, which is the present day Davenport North HS. I am very proud to say that Jane was named the 2014 Iowa Teacher of the Year by Governor Branstad. We have been blessed with three grown children and look forward to soon being grandparents.

I am a graduate of Central Community School District in DeWitt and a graduate of Iowa State University with a degree in Farm Management. Currently I serve on the Clinton County Board of Supervisors. It would be fair to say that I am attached to this area and its life style.

As Clinton County Supervisor, I currently serve as: Chair of Clinton County Emergency Management Commission, Chair of the Clinton County Justice Coordinating Commission, Director representing Clinton County on the Governing Board of the Eastern Iowa Regional Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities Board, and member of the Board of Directors for Bridgeview Mental Health in Clinton, Iowa.

I am an active member of the Clinton County Farm Bureau, Clinton County Cattlemen, Delmar Lions. I am an elder at the DeWitt Evangelical Free Church, have participated with the Quad Cities Walk to Emmaus and the local CEW (Christian Experience Weekend) in DeWitt.

I believe in serving others and have made and will continue to make service trips to Haiti through Mission to Haiti and Serve Haiti. I serve as a volunteer and past facilitator with “Getting Ahead” – local outreach to those dealing with poverty. In my church, I have also served as the commander for Awanas program and volunteer for Upward Football, a community service for youth grades 2 through 5.

I am proud of my Iowa ancestry and the family farm where my parents instilled within me the Iowa ethic of hard work, deep faith, and most important to me today, reaching out and helping others.

Brian’s district is Senate District 49 which includes precincts AG, LC1, LC2, LCT, MC, PKV, PR, and WF in Scott County, and the remainder of his precincts are in Clinton County.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

